Disclaimer: This content is for educational purposes only and is not medical advice. The peptides discussed on this page are research compounds and are not FDA-approved for human use. Clinical evidence in humans is limited for most healing peptides — the majority of research is preclinical (animal studies) or anecdotal. Always consult a licensed healthcare provider before starting any peptide protocol, especially if you have a history of cancer, are pregnant, are breastfeeding, or are taking other medications. Peptides.NYC does not sell peptides.
Overview
Healing and recovery peptides are short amino acid sequences studied for their effects on tissue repair, inflammation, and recovery from injury. Unlike anti-inflammatories, which work largely by damping the body's inflammatory response, these compounds are studied as signaling molecules — they are proposed to orchestrate the body's own repair machinery rather than to rebuild tissue directly.
Before anything else, the state of the evidence, because it shapes every section below. The most-studied compound in this category, BPC-157, has a substantial and largely consistent rodent literature — transected Achilles tendon (PMID 14554208), tendon-to-bone healing after Achilles detachment (PMID 16583442), muscle crush injury (PMID 18668315), and effects on angiogenesis in muscle and tendon healing (PMID 20388964). What it does not have is a published randomized human trial for musculoskeletal injury. The gap between rodent biology and human outcomes is real, and it is not closed by the volume of rodent papers.
Two compounds on this page do have real human trial data — larazotide and ARA-290 — and both are cited below with what their trials actually found, including the endpoints they missed.
This pillar page covers the full healing peptide landscape. If you are trying to figure out the best peptides for injury recovery, this is the right starting point, with the caveat that "best" here means "least badly evidenced." If peptides themselves are new to you, Peptide 101: what are peptides? is the shorter place to begin, and the beginner library carries the rest.
Who this hub is for
- Athletes dealing with stubborn injuries or trying to compress recovery windows
- Anyone considering peptide therapy for joint pain, tendinopathy, or post-surgical recovery
- People with chronic gut issues who have heard about BPC-157 and want the broader category
- Practitioners and trainers wanting a reference framework
- Readers who want to separate signal from hype
What you'll learn
- The four families of healing peptides and what each has actually been shown to do
- Which compounds have human data and which have only animal data
- What the one published head-to-head test of the BPC-157 + TB-500 stack found
- The limitations of peptides — what they cannot do
- Where peptides sit relative to PRP, stem cells, and physical therapy
The Healing Peptide Family Tree
| Family | Representative Peptides | Origin | Best-Evidenced Use | Evidence Level |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stable gastric peptides | BPC-157 | Synthetic; reported as a partial sequence of a compound isolated from human gastric juice | Tendon, muscle, gut repair | Rodent |
| Thymic-derived peptides | TB-500 (thymosin β4 fragment) | Synthetic analog of Tβ4 | Cell migration, soft tissue | Rodent and cell culture |
| Growth factor peptides | MGF, PEG-MGF, IGF-1 LR3 | Splice variants / analogs of native growth factors | Localized muscle repair | Preclinical |
| Specialty signaling peptides | KPV, larazotide, ARA-290, Ac-SDKP | Tripeptides, tetrapeptides, EPO fragments | Gut, skin, neuropathy, fibrosis | Mixed — larazotide and ARA-290 have human RCTs |
Most practical protocols draw from the first two families. The specialty peptides target specific problems the workhorses do not address — and, notably, are the ones with the most human data.
A note on naming conventions
TB-500 is the common name for the active fragment of thymosin beta-4 (Tβ4); purists distinguish the synthetic fragment from the full-length native peptide. MGF is mechano growth factor, a splice variant of IGF-1 expressed in damaged muscle; PEG-MGF adds a polyethylene glycol group to extend half-life. BPC-157 also appears in the literature as PL 14736 or PLD-116, the designations under which it entered inflammatory bowel disease clinical trials (PMID 14554208).
BPC-157 — The Workhorse
BPC-157 (Body Protection Compound-157) is a 15-amino-acid synthetic peptide, sequence GEPPPGKPADDAGLV, described as a partial sequence of body protection compound (BPC), "discovered in and isolated from human gastric juice" (PMID 21030672). Note that this origin is stated in the peptide's own research literature rather than demonstrated in an independent characterization paper, which is why the wording here follows the source rather than asserting it outright.
What the rodent literature shows
The rat work is more specific than the summaries usually suggest, so here is what the individual studies reported.
- Transected Achilles tendon. In rats whose right Achilles tendon was transected 5 mm proximal to the calcaneal insertion, intraperitoneal BPC-157 produced significantly higher load to failure and Young's modulus, higher Achilles functional index values, superior fibroblast, reticulin and collagen formation on microscopy, and smaller tendon defects macroscopically, with reestablishment of tendon integrity (PMID 14554208).
- Tendon-to-bone healing. In a rat Achilles detachment model, BPC-157 promoted tendon-to-bone healing and opposed the aggravating effect of corticosteroid (PMID 16583442).
- Mechanism at the cell level. BPC-157 promoted tendon healing through tendon outgrowth, cell survival, and cell migration in tendon explant and fibroblast work (PMID 21030672), and it raised growth hormone receptor expression in tendon fibroblasts (PMID 25415472).
- Muscle. BPC-157 was an effective therapy for muscle crush injury in the rat (PMID 18668315) and for transected quadriceps muscle (PMID 16609979).
- Angiogenesis. A modulatory effect on angiogenesis was documented in muscle and tendon healing (PMID 20388964).
That is a coherent body of work, and it is the honest basis for interest in this compound.
What the rodent literature does not show
It does not show a human musculoskeletal outcome. It does not establish a human dose. And the frequently repeated claim of a "strong safety profile" is a claim about rodent studies at rodent doses over rodent timescales — there is no long-term human safety dataset for BPC-157, and the absence of published harm is not the same as demonstrated safety.
The oral-stability claim deserves the same treatment. BPC-157 is described as stable in gastric juice, and it entered clinical trials for inflammatory bowel disease as PLD-116 / PL 14736 (PMID 14554208), which is why a gut indication is discussed at all. The route used in those trials is not stated in that record, so this page does not claim they were oral. Human bioavailability figures for oral BPC-157 are not published either, so "oral works as well as injection" is not something this page can assert.
For mechanism deep-dives, injection technique, and stacking, see the BPC-157 Complete Guide. For the variant marketed as more stable, see the BPC-157 Arginine Salt Protocol. For the cancer question specifically, see Does BPC-157 cause cancer?.
TB-500 — The Systemic Recovery Peptide
TB-500 is a synthetic fragment of thymosin beta-4 (Tβ4), a peptide found in high concentration at wound sites. Where BPC-157 is discussed for its breadth, TB-500 is discussed for cell migration.
That migration claim has laboratory support: matrix metalloproteinase activity is required for Tβ4's promotion of epithelial cell migration, and blocking MMP activity blocks the effect (PMID 17348036). Tβ4 has also been characterized as a corneal wound-healing and anti-inflammatory agent (PMID 19668473), and the β-thymosin family is described as small acidic peptides with multiple functions, of which actin sequestration is the best characterized (PMID 11311852).
The most relevant recent finding is in the tendon model. In 32 rats after standardized Achilles transection and repair, TB-500 at 60 µg/kg/day intraperitoneally for four weeks produced significantly higher maximum load to failure than controls (p < 0.05), significantly lower Bonar (p = 0.016) and Movin (p = 0.017) degeneration scores, and increased type I collagen organization (PMID 42542926). In that study TB-500 outperformed BPC-157, which showed numerically lower histology scores that did not reach significance.
No randomized human trial of TB-500 for injury has been published. It also appears on the WADA prohibited list, which matters for tested athletes — see the TB-500 Complete Guide and TB-500 and the 2026 FDA PCAC decision.
TB-500 vs full-length thymosin beta-4
TB-500 products are typically the active fragment rather than full-length Tβ4 (43–44 amino acids). Which you actually receive from an unregulated vendor is a labelling question, not a pharmacology question — which is why COA review matters more here than for almost anything else on this page.
The BPC-157 + TB-500 Stack — And the Study That Tested It
The BPC-157 + TB-500 stack is the most popular healing peptide protocol in practice, and the standard justification is that the two are complementary: TB-500 mobilizes repair cells systemically while BPC-157 organizes local rebuilding. It is a tidy story.
It has now been tested directly, and the combination did not beat the single agents. In the 2026 rat Achilles study described above, four groups — control, BPC-157, TB-500, and the combination — were compared on biomechanics, histopathology, histochemistry, and immunohistochemistry at four weeks. Both peptides improved histopathological parameters and matrix organization; TB-500 alone showed the significant biomechanical advantage; and the combination showed no additive effect, which the authors hypothesize may reflect convergence on shared downstream pathways (PMID 42542926).
That is one exploratory rat study with eight animals per group, and the authors say so. It is also the only published head-to-head test of the stack, and it points away from the "1 + 1 = 3" framing that sells it. Anyone running the stack should know that, and the full side-by-side — including where each compound's evidence is stronger — is in BPC-157 vs TB-500.
When the stack is discussed
Post-surgical orthopedic recovery, chronic tendinopathy that has not responded to physical therapy, ligament injuries where surgery is being avoided, stalled soft tissue healing, and time-pressured athletes. Those are the community indications, not trial indications.
For dosing, sequencing, and cycle length, see the BPC-157 + TB-500 Stack Protocol, which carries its own references.
When it is probably unnecessary
For a recent, simple soft tissue strain that would resolve in a few weeks with physical therapy, there is no evidence — in any species — that adding a second peptide improves anything. Given the study above, the burden of proof on the stack has gone up, not down.
Specialty Healing Peptides
These target specific problems and, notably, include the only two compounds on this page with published human randomized trials.
| Peptide | Primary Use | Mechanism | Human Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| MGF / PEG-MGF | Localized muscle repair | Splice variant of IGF-1 expressed after muscle damage | None published |
| KPV | Gut and skin inflammation | α-MSH(11-13) tripeptide; anti-inflammatory | None published; murine colitis data (PMID 18092346) |
| Larazotide | Intestinal permeability, celiac symptoms | Zonulin antagonist acting on tight junctions | Multiple RCTs (PMID 25683116, PMID 34339872) |
| ARA-290 (cibinetide) | Small fiber neuropathy symptoms | EPO-derived peptide activating the innate repair receptor | Randomized pilot trial (PMID 23168581) |
| Ac-SDKP | Anti-fibrotic | Naturally occurring tetrapeptide; opposes collagen accumulation | None published; rodent data (PMID 11230375) |
KPV
In two murine models of inflammatory bowel disease — DSS colitis and CD45RB-high transfer colitis — the melanocortin-derived tripeptide KPV produced earlier recovery, significantly greater body weight regain, significantly reduced inflammatory infiltrates on histology, and significantly reduced colonic myeloperoxidase activity. In mice with a non-functional melanocortin-1 receptor, KPV rescued all treated animals from death during DSS colitis, indicating the effect is at least partly MC1R-independent (PMID 18092346). Strong mouse data; no human trial. See the KPV Protocol.
Larazotide — Real Human Data, With Real Caveats
Larazotide is the most studied compound on this page in humans, and the results are genuinely mixed rather than uniformly positive.
In a multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in 342 adults with celiac disease who remained symptomatic despite 12 months or more on a gluten-free diet, larazotide 0.5 mg three times daily met the primary endpoint for symptom relief (p = 0.022 by ANCOVA, p = 0.005 by mixed model), with a 26% decrease in symptomatic days and a 31% increase in improved symptom days. The 1 mg and 2 mg doses were no different from placebo on any endpoint (PMID 25683116).
A meta-analysis of four RCTs (626 patients) sharpens the picture: larazotide did not significantly change the lactulose-to-mannitol ratio — the direct measure of intestinal permeability — in any gluten condition. Symptomatic benefit versus placebo appeared only in patients undergoing gluten challenge, not in those on a gluten-free diet, and larazotide favorably reduced gluten-related diarrhea under challenge (PMID 34339872).
Two consequences for how this page can describe it. Larazotide's inverted-U dose response means "more is better" is exactly wrong for this compound. And the claim that it "tightens intestinal tight junctions" in humans, measurably, is not supported by the permeability endpoint — the demonstrated effect is symptomatic. See the Larazotide Protocol.
ARA-290
In a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled exploratory trial, 22 patients with sarcoidosis and symptoms of small fiber neuropathy received intravenous ARA-290 2 mg three times weekly or placebo for four weeks. The ARA-290 group showed significant improvement versus placebo in the Small Fiber Neuropathy Screening List score at week 4 (Δ −11.5 versus Δ −2.9) and significant within-group change in the pain and physical functioning dimensions of the SF-36. Brief Pain Inventory and Fatigue Assessment Scale scores improved significantly but equivalently in both groups, and no safety concerns were raised (PMID 23168581).
That is a positive signal on a neuropathy-specific instrument from a 22-patient pilot, with the headline pain measure improving equally on placebo. It is the best human data any peptide on this page has for pain, and it is still a pilot. Note also the route: intravenous, three times weekly, in a clinic. See the ARA-290 Protocol.
Ac-SDKP
N-acetyl-seryl-aspartyl-lysyl-proline is an endogenous tetrapeptide with a consistent anti-fibrotic signal in rodents: in aldosterone-salt hypertensive rats it reduced fibrosis in heart and kidney (PMID 11230375), and it inhibits TGF-β-mediated signaling via the Smad pathway in human mesangial cells in vitro (PMID 12660320). Its relevance to post-surgical scar tissue in humans is an extrapolation across both species and tissue. See the Ac-SDKP Protocol.
MGF and PEG-MGF
MGF is typically injected into the target muscle; PEG-MGF is pegylated for a longer half-life. No published human trial supports either for injury recovery, and the hypertrophy claims are extrapolated from IGF-1 biology rather than measured. See the MGF & PEG-MGF Protocol and, for the related compound, the IGF-1 LR3 Protocol.
What Healing Peptides Won't Do
This is the most important section on this page.
They will not replace surgery
A fully torn ACL, a complete rotator cuff tear, a displaced fracture, or a mechanically locking meniscal tear needs definitive repair. Nothing in the rodent literature suggests otherwise, and the study designs make the point. The 2026 comparison used surgical transection followed by surgical repair, with the peptide given as an adjunct to that repair rather than instead of it (PMID 42542926). The older transection studies did not repair the tendon — they left a defect between the cut ends and measured healing across it (PMID 14554208), which is a model of unrepaired healing in a rat, not a demonstration that a human can skip surgery on a structure that needs mechanical reattachment.
They will not reverse advanced osteoarthritis
Once cartilage is worn through, the joint surface is structurally damaged. No peptide on this page has been shown to regrow cartilage in any species at a scale relevant to a bone-on-bone joint.
They will not heal what cannot be reached
If a structure has poor blood supply, an injected signaling peptide faces the same delivery problem your endogenous repair system does.
They will not work without rehab
Tissue heals along the lines of stress applied to it, and the intervention with the best evidence for chronic tendinopathy is loading, not injecting — see the section below.
They are not approved drugs
Most of the compounds here are sold as research chemicals and are not FDA-approved for human use. On 2026-04-15 the FDA announced the removal of 12 peptides from the 503A "Category 2" do-not-compound list, including BPC-157, TB-500, and KPV, and the FDA bulk substances page was updated 2026-04-22 (FDA). The Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee then met on 2026-07-23 and 24 and recommended six of the seven peptides it considered — including BPC-157, KPV, and TB-500 — while rejecting emideltide (STAT · AJMC).
Read that carefully, because it is routinely overstated: those recommendations are advisory only, notice-and-comment rulemaking is still required, and none of these substances is on the 503A Bulks List today. Removal from the 503A Category 2 list is not permission to compound, and BPC-157 remains an unapproved drug. FDA has also continued issuing warning letters to peptide sellers and has expressly rejected "research use only" labelling as a defense. The dated position for each substance is a row on our tracker: BPC-157, TB-500 and KPV.
They are not risk-free
Mitogenic signaling raises theoretical concerns in active cancer. Pregnancy is a contraindication for everything on this list. See Side Effects & Safety.
Best Peptide for Common Injury Types
Pattern-matching peptides to injuries is the most common question we get. Every row below is a community and practitioner convention, not a trial-supported indication — the underlying evidence is rodent for BPC-157 and TB-500, and absent for MGF and Ac-SDKP.
| Injury Type | Commonly Used First | Notes on Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Tendinopathy (Achilles, patellar, elbow, rotator cuff) | BPC-157, site-injected where feasible | Rat transection models (PMID 14554208); in the one head-to-head rat study TB-500 outperformed it biomechanically (PMID 42542926) |
| Ligament strain / partial tear | BPC-157, with TB-500 for stubborn cases | No ligament-specific human or head-to-head data |
| Muscle tear / strain | MGF site-injection, or BPC-157 systemically | BPC-157 has rat crush and transection data (PMID 18668315); MGF has none published |
| Post-surgical orthopedic recovery | BPC-157 and/or TB-500 after wound closure and surgeon clearance | Only the 2026 rat study repaired the tendon surgically (PMID 42542926); the earlier models left the defect unrepaired |
| Gut healing | BPC-157 (often oral) with KPV | KPV has murine colitis data (PMID 18092346); add larazotide only where permeability is actually documented |
| Neuropathic pain | ARA-290 | The only compound here with a randomized human pain trial, and it is a 22-patient IV pilot (PMID 23168581) |
| Fracture / stress fracture | BPC-157 after alignment and immobilization | Rodent bone data exists; no human data |
| Skin / wound healing | BPC-157 with topical GHK-Cu | Tβ4 has corneal wound-healing data (PMID 19668473) |
| Scar tissue / fibrosis concern | Ac-SDKP | Rodent and in vitro anti-fibrotic data only (PMID 11230375) |
| Cartilage / mild joint pain | BPC-157 | Manage expectations — no cartilage regrowth evidence |
Two cross-cutting principles worth keeping:
- Site injection for localized injuries is the practitioner convention, on the reasoning that local concentration matters. Note that the rat studies above dosed intraperitoneally, i.e. systemically — so the site-injection preference is not what the animal data tested.
- Duration matters. Healing protocols in the community run 6–12 weeks, and the rodent studies ran four weeks post-repair. Judging a tendon protocol at two weeks is judging it too early either way.
Protocols and Dosing
Dose-response data for these compounds in humans does not exist. The rodent studies used weight-based doses in animals — BPC-157 at 10 µg/kg/day and TB-500 at 60 µg/kg/day intraperitoneally in the Achilles study (PMID 42542926), and 10 µg, 10 ng, or 10 pg per kg in the earlier transection work (PMID 14554208) — and allometric scaling from a rat's intraperitoneal dose to a human's subcutaneous dose is not a calculation this page will pretend to make.
For that reason the microgram and milligram tables that used to appear here have been removed. Each compound's protocol guide — and the wider protocol library — carries the amounts people actually use along with where those numbers came from:
- BPC-157 Complete Guide and BPC-157 + TB-500 Stack Protocol
- TB-500 Complete Guide
- KPV Protocol, Larazotide Protocol, ARA-290 Protocol, Ac-SDKP Protocol, MGF & PEG-MGF Protocol
Two doses are worth repeating here because they come from human trials and are presented as such. Larazotide's effective dose in celiac disease was 0.5 mg three times daily, with 1 mg and 2 mg no better than placebo (PMID 25683116). ARA-290's pilot dose was 2 mg intravenously three times weekly for four weeks (PMID 23168581). Neither is a recommendation; both are what was studied.
Cycling
Community practice is to cycle any protocol running beyond a couple of months, and to take deliberate off periods. No published human study has evaluated continuous versus cycled use of any compound on this page, so the specific week counts that circulate are convention rather than evidence — and are therefore not reproduced here. The defensible reason to take breaks is the same as everywhere else on this site: if you never stop, you cannot tell whether it is still doing anything.
Site injection versus systemic
For localized injuries, injecting near the site is the practitioner convention. There is real risk in needling inflamed tissue, and for deep structures or joints this should be done by a trained clinician rather than at home. See the Injection Safety Checklist and First Injection Guide.
Reconstitution and storage
Lyophilized peptides are reconstituted with bacteriostatic water; concentration depends on how much you add. See the Reconstitution Cheat Sheet, Dosing Calculator Guide, and Storage & Handling Guide.
Side Effects & Safety
The honest position: long-term human safety data is absent for every compound on this page except larazotide, whose trials reported safety comparable with placebo (PMID 25683116), and ARA-290, whose pilot raised no safety concerns in 22 patients over four weeks (PMID 23168581). Neither of those is a long-term dataset either.
Commonly reported, mild
Injection site reactions, mild headache or fatigue on starting, transient GI upset with oral BPC-157, and local irritation from site injections. These come from user report rather than trial adverse-event tables, since there are no trials to tabulate.
Serious considerations
Active or recent cancer. These compounds promote cell proliferation and angiogenesis — that is the mechanism. In active malignancy the concern is that the same signals reach cancer cells. This is a theoretical concern rather than a demonstrated harm, and it is the consensus reason to avoid them in that setting. Discuss with an oncologist, and see Does BPC-157 cause cancer? for the full treatment.
Pregnancy and breastfeeding. No safety data, and growth factor signalling in a developing fetus is not something to experiment with. Contraindicated.
Pediatric use. Not studied. Default to avoidance.
Bleeding and clotting. Compounds influencing angiogenesis have theoretical interactions with anticoagulants. Raise it with your physician if you take warfarin or a DOAC.
Active infection. Immunomodulatory peptides may complicate an active infectious process.
Quality is a safety issue
Contamination, mislabelled compounds, and underdosed product are all documented realities in this market — one published case report describes identifying AOD9604 in unknown pharmaceutical preparations seized by national authorities, which is the kind of thing that happens in an unregulated supply chain. Source only from vendors with batch-specific third-party COAs. See the COA Reading Guide, the Vendor Scorecard Framework, and the Peptide Safety Guide, or the sourcing library and safety library for everything else in those two areas.
Healing Peptides vs PRP / Stem Cells
This comparison is usually framed as "peptides have less evidence than PRP." That is worth examining, because the placebo-controlled PRP evidence is weaker than its reputation.
| Modality | Mechanism | What the Best Evidence Shows |
|---|---|---|
| Healing peptides (BPC-157, TB-500) | Signaling; proposed orchestration of endogenous repair | Consistent rodent tendon and muscle data; no published human RCT |
| PRP injection | Concentrated autologous growth factors delivered to the site | In a meta-analysis restricted to randomized placebo-controlled trials in chronic lateral epicondylitis, PRP was not superior to placebo for pain (SMD −0.51) or function (SMD −0.07); patients improved after both interventions (PMID 32103373) |
| Stem cell injection | Delivery of progenitor cells | Mixed evidence and significant regulatory concerns |
| Prolotherapy | Dextrose-based irritation intended to trigger repair | Moderate evidence for chronic ligament and tendon pain |
Costs are not tabulated here — the ranges previously on this page were unsourced, and regenerative-medicine pricing in New York varies by clinic more than any table can capture. Ask for a written quote.
How to think about the choice. PRP has the advantage of being a procedure performed in a licensed setting with an autologous product, which is a real safety and legality advantage over a research chemical from an unregulated vendor. It does not have the advantage of clear superiority over placebo in the one tendinopathy indication with a placebo-controlled meta-analysis. Neither modality has earned confident claims, and the honest comparison is between two under-evidenced options — with the loading program below being the one intervention in this whole section with solid human data.
Combining With Physical Therapy
This is the most under-emphasized point in peptide discussions: the loading program has better evidence than anything you can inject.
In the original study of heavy-load eccentric calf muscle training, 15 recreational athletes with chronic Achilles tendinosis and a long duration of symptoms despite conventional non-surgical treatment were treated with a 12-week eccentric program. At baseline none could run; after 12 weeks all 15 were back at their pre-injury level with full running activity, with a significant decrease in pain during activity and recovery of calf muscle strength on the injured side (PMID 9617396). A later randomized multicenter comparison found eccentric training superior to concentric training in the short term in chronic Achilles tendinosis (PMID 11269583).
That is a small, uncontrolled original series followed by randomized replication — and it is still stronger human evidence than exists for any peptide on this page.
Tissue heals along the lines of stress applied to it. Without progressive loading you risk disorganized scar tissue instead of aligned collagen, recurrence because load tolerance was never rebuilt, stiffness from immobility, and — bluntly — wasting the protocol by accelerating repair of low-quality tissue.
The sequence that follows from the evidence:
- Get the injury diagnosed by a physical therapist or sports medicine physician.
- Start the loading program appropriate to the tissue. For Achilles tendinopathy specifically, that means an eccentric program, which is what the trial above tested.
- Run any peptide protocol alongside it, not instead of it.
- Progress through the rehab phases on the normal timeline. A peptide may shorten a phase; it does not let you skip one.
- Do not return to full load early. The injury feels better long before the tissue tolerates sport load. This is the most common and most costly mistake.
Frequently Asked Questions: Healing Peptides
What are the best peptides for injury recovery? BPC-157 is the most-studied option and the usual first choice, with TB-500 for stubborn or systemic cases — but both rest on rodent data, and in the one published rat study that compared them head to head, TB-500 produced the significant biomechanical improvement while BPC-157 did not. If you want the option with actual human randomized data, that is the loading program your physical therapist prescribes, not a peptide.
BPC-157 versus TB-500 — which should I choose? For localized injuries you can inject near, BPC-157 is the convention; for systemic or hard-to-reach problems, TB-500. The one direct comparison, in rats after Achilles transection and repair, favored TB-500 on load to failure and degeneration scores. Notably, the combination of the two showed no additive benefit in that study, which argues against reflexively running both. See the BPC-157 + TB-500 Stack Protocol.
How long until I see results from healing peptides? There is no human trial to answer this, so any timeline is user report. The rodent tendon studies assessed outcomes at four weeks after repair, and community protocols run six to twelve weeks. What that means practically is that judging a protocol at two weeks tells you nothing either way, and that comfort improving early is not evidence that tissue has healed.
Are healing peptides legal? They are sold as research chemicals and are not FDA-approved for human use. The regulatory picture moved in 2026: twelve peptides including BPC-157, TB-500, and KPV were removed from the 503A Category 2 do-not-compound list in April, and an FDA advisory committee recommended six of seven peptides for compounding in July. Both steps are preliminary — the committee's recommendations are advisory, rulemaking has not happened, and none of these substances is on the 503A Bulks List. See the Peptide Legality by State guide.
Can I take BPC-157 orally instead of injecting? BPC-157 is described as stable in gastric juice, and it entered inflammatory bowel disease trials as PLD-116 / PL 14736 — though the record does not state the route those trials used, so this page does not claim they were oral. Published human bioavailability figures for oral BPC-157 do not exist, so claims that oral matches injection for systemic or musculoskeletal use are not supported. For gut-directed use the oral route has a coherent rationale from the gastric-stability claim, and that is as far as the evidence goes.
Do healing peptides work for chronic injuries older than six months? No human trial has tested this. Users report success with chronic injuries that had not responded to other care, and community protocols for chronic cases run longer. What is established for chronic tendinopathy is that a twelve-week eccentric loading program returned all fifteen patients in the original series to full running activity, so that is where the effort belongs first.
Can I use healing peptides while training? Most users continue training with load modified for the injury, and that is consistent with the rehab evidence. If you are subject to anti-doping testing, note that BPC-157 and TB-500 both appear on the WADA prohibited list — check the current list yourself before assuming anything, because that status is updated annually.
Are there real risks with healing peptides? The known risks are the unregulated supply chain and the theoretical mitogenic concern. Contamination, mislabelling, and underdosing are documented in this market. Active or recent cancer, pregnancy, and breastfeeding are the standard contraindications, and long-term human safety data does not exist for any of these compounds. See Side Effects & Safety.
Can healing peptides regrow cartilage in arthritic joints? No compound on this page has been shown to regrow cartilage in any species at a scale that would matter in a worn joint. Symptomatic improvement is plausible; structural cartilage regrowth is not supported by anything published.
Should I cycle healing peptides? Community practice says yes, and no published human study has compared continuous with cycled use of any of these compounds — so the specific week counts you see quoted are convention rather than evidence. The defensible reason to take breaks is to create a window in which you can judge whether the compound is still doing anything.
Featured Protocols on Peptides.NYC
- BPC-157: The Complete Healing Peptide Guide — the foundational guide
- BPC-157 + TB-500 Stack Protocol — the most popular healing stack
- BPC-157 Arginine Salt Protocol — the variant marketed as more stable
- TB-500 Complete Guide — systemic recovery deep dive
- Does BPC-157 Cause Cancer? — the mitogenic question in full
- MGF & PEG-MGF Protocol — localized muscle repair
- IGF-1 LR3 Protocol — the related growth factor analog
- Ac-SDKP Protocol — anti-fibrotic and scar prevention
- ARA-290 Protocol — neuropathy and innate repair
- KPV Protocol — gut and skin anti-inflammatory
- Larazotide Protocol — intestinal permeability
- GHK-Cu Protocol — skin and wound repair
Supporting guides
- Injection Safety Checklist
- Reconstitution Cheat Sheet
- Dosing Calculator Guide
- Storage & Handling Guide
- COA Reading Guide
- Vendor Scorecard Framework
- Peptide Safety Guide
- Peptide Legality by State 2026
- TB-500 and the 2026 FDA PCAC Decision
- First Injection Guide
- Doctor Conversation Script
Related Hubs
- Muscle & Performance Peptide Hub — MGF, IGF-1 LR3, and the anabolic overlap
- Immune Peptide Hub — KPV, thymic peptides, and inflammation
- Longevity Peptide Hub — GHK-Cu and tissue-ageing compounds
- Cognitive Peptide Hub — nerve repair and neuroprotection
Disclaimer: This content is for educational purposes only and is not medical advice. The peptides discussed are research compounds and are not FDA-approved for human use. Clinical evidence in humans is limited or absent for most healing peptides. Always consult a licensed healthcare provider before starting any peptide protocol, especially if you have a history of cancer, are pregnant, are breastfeeding, or are taking other medications. Peptides.NYC does not sell peptides — we provide education, practitioner directory access, and vendor evaluation frameworks.
Selected References
Every PMID linked above points to the PubMed record for that paper, so you can check the claim against the abstract yourself.
- Staresinic M, Sebecic B, Patrlj L, et al. Gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157 accelerates healing of transected rat Achilles tendon and in vitro stimulates tendocytes growth. Journal of Orthopaedic Research. 2003. PMID 14554208 · doi:10.1016/S0736-0266(03)00110-4
- Krivic A, Anic T, Seiwerth S, et al. Achilles detachment in rat and stable gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157: promoted tendon-to-bone healing and opposed corticosteroid aggravation. Journal of Orthopaedic Research. 2006. PMID 16583442 · doi:10.1002/jor.20096
- Staresinic M, Petrovic I, Novinscak T, et al. Effective therapy of transected quadriceps muscle in rat: gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157. Journal of Orthopaedic Research. 2006. PMID 16609979 · doi:10.1002/jor.20089
- Novinscak T, Brcic L, Staresinic M, et al. Gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157 as an effective therapy for muscle crush injury in the rat. Surgery Today. 2008. PMID 18668315 · doi:10.1007/s00595-007-3706-2
- Brcic L, Brcic I, Staresinic M, et al. Modulatory effect of gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157 on angiogenesis in muscle and tendon healing. Journal of Physiology and Pharmacology. 2009. PMID 20388964
- Chang CH, Tsai WC, Lin MS, et al. The promoting effect of pentadecapeptide BPC 157 on tendon healing involves tendon outgrowth, cell survival, and cell migration. Journal of Applied Physiology. 2011. PMID 21030672 · doi:10.1152/japplphysiol.00945.2010
- Chang CH, Tsai WC, Hsu YH, et al. Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 enhances the growth hormone receptor expression in tendon fibroblasts. Molecules. 2014. PMID 25415472 · doi:10.3390/molecules191119066
- Biçer O, Adanir O, Güleryüz Y, et al. Effects of BPC-157 and TB-500 on Achilles tendon healing in rats: a histopathological and biomechanical study. Joint Diseases and Related Surgery. 2026. PMID 42542926 · doi:10.52312/jdrs.2026.2951
- Huff T, Müller CS, Otto AM, et al. Beta-thymosins, small acidic peptides with multiple functions. International Journal of Biochemistry and Cell Biology. 2001. PMID 11311852 · doi:10.1016/s1357-2725(00)00087-x
- Qiu P, Kurpakus-Wheater M, Sosne G. Matrix metalloproteinase activity is necessary for thymosin beta 4 promotion of epithelial cell migration. Journal of Cellular Physiology. 2007. PMID 17348036 · doi:10.1002/jcp.21012
- Sosne G, Qiu P, Kurpakus-Wheater M. Thymosin beta 4: a novel corneal wound healing and anti-inflammatory agent. Clinical Ophthalmology. 2007. PMID 19668473
- Kannengiesser K, Maaser C, Heidemann J, et al. Melanocortin-derived tripeptide KPV has anti-inflammatory potential in murine models of inflammatory bowel disease. Inflammatory Bowel Diseases. 2008. PMID 18092346 · doi:10.1002/ibd.20334
- Leffler DA, Kelly CP, Green PH, et al. Larazotide acetate for persistent symptoms of celiac disease despite a gluten-free diet: a randomized controlled trial. Gastroenterology. 2015. PMID 25683116 · doi:10.1053/j.gastro.2015.02.008
- Hoilat GJ, Altowairqi AK, Ayas MF, et al. Larazotide acetate for treatment of celiac disease: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology. 2022. PMID 34339872 · doi:10.1016/j.clinre.2021.101782
- Heij L, Niesters M, Swartjes M, et al. Safety and efficacy of ARA 290 in sarcoidosis patients with symptoms of small fiber neuropathy: a randomized, double-blind pilot study. Molecular Medicine. 2012. PMID 23168581 · doi:10.2119/molmed.2012.00332
- Peng H, Carretero OA, Raij L, et al. Antifibrotic effects of N-acetyl-seryl-aspartyl-lysyl-proline on the heart and kidney in aldosterone-salt hypertensive rats. Hypertension. 2001. PMID 11230375 · doi:10.1161/01.hyp.37.2.794
- Kanasaki K, Koya D, Sugimoto T, et al. N-acetyl-seryl-aspartyl-lysyl-proline inhibits TGF-beta-mediated plasminogen activator inhibitor-1 expression via inhibition of Smad pathway in human mesangial cells. Journal of the American Society of Nephrology. 2003. PMID 12660320 · doi:10.1097/01.asn.0000057544.95569.ec
- Simental-Mendía M, Vilchez-Cavazos F, Álvarez-Villalobos N, et al. Clinical efficacy of platelet-rich plasma in the treatment of lateral epicondylitis: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized placebo-controlled clinical trials. Clinical Rheumatology. 2020. PMID 32103373 · doi:10.1007/s10067-020-05000-y
- Alfredson H, Pietilä T, Jonsson P, Lorentzon R. Heavy-load eccentric calf muscle training for the treatment of chronic Achilles tendinosis. American Journal of Sports Medicine. 1998. PMID 9617396 · doi:10.1177/03635465980260030301
- Mafi N, Lorentzon R, Alfredson H. Superior short-term results with eccentric calf muscle training compared to concentric training in a randomized prospective multicenter study on patients with chronic Achilles tendinosis. Knee Surgery, Sports Traumatology, Arthroscopy. 2001. PMID 11269583 · doi:10.1007/s001670000148
Regulatory statements are sourced to the FDA and contemporaneous reporting, linked inline. Inclusion here is not endorsement — reference 18 is listed precisely because it is a negative result, and reference 8 because it failed to find the additive effect the popular stack assumes. Nothing on this page is medical advice.